2019 / Booklet / Completed


The editors have asked the authors to reflect on personal thoughts and ideas about civil justice in concise chapters without footnotes and references. All contributions are written in a personal capacity. The booklet contains a chronological list of Parliamentary papers and reports to which the authors refer. For variety reasons a few columns with a wider scope have been included throughout the booklet.

Editorial board: mr. dr. Th. Groenewald, Prof. mr. R.H. de Bock, Prof. mr. C.E. du Perron and Prof. mr. L. Timmerman.


Prof. dr. mr. E. (Eddy) Bauw Professor of Justice (University of Amsterdam); professor of Liability and Justice (Utrecht University); director of Montaigne Center for Justice and Conflict Resolution
Prof. mr. J.M. (Maurits) Barendrecht Research director HiiL (Hague Institute for Innovation of Law), professor of Innovation in the Justice System, Tilburg University
Prof. mr. R.H. (Ruth) de Bock Attorney General at the Supreme Court and part-time professor of civil justice at the University of Amsterdam. Prior to her current function she was a judge for twenty years
Prof. dr. A.F.M. (Alex) Brenninkmeijer Member of the European Court of Auditors in Luxembourg since 2014 and professor of Institutional Aspects of the Rule of Law at Utrecht University. Previously he was the National Ombudsman during a period of eight years and a judge at various judicial bodies for more than twenty years, including vice president of the Central Board of Appeal (CRvB).
Prof. dr. I. (Ivo) Giesen Professor of Civil Law and Head of the Law Department at Utrecht University and member of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Sciences (KNAW)
Mr. dr. Th. (Edo) Groenewald Former attorney at law, director of various commercial and cultural institutions, former deputy judge Court of Appeal Den Bosch
Mr. A. (Alfred) Hammerstein He has held various positions in the judiciary. He is currently chairman of the Advisory Committee for the Restitution of Cultural Property Second World War
Mr. dr. L.R. (Dolf) van Harinxma thoe Slooten Senior judge Court of Appeal Arnhem-Leeuwarden, previously judge in the Courts of Appeal Amsterdam and Den Bosch, scientific collaborator Tilburg University, attorney at law
Prof. mr. dr. R.C. (Rogier) Hartendorp Judge District Court The Hague and extraordinary professor social effectiveness of the administration of justice at Leyden University
Mr. dr. D. B. (Bo) Holthinrichs Professional Support Lawyer at Mainport lawyers
Drs. W.J. (Wim) Kuijken Economist (Free University Amsterdam). Former Delta Commissioner and Secretary General (Foreign Affairs, General Affairs and Traffic and Water Management and Infrastructure and Water Management). Chairman supervisory boards at, among others, Netherlands Central Bank, Amsterdam University Medical Center, Netherlands Air Traffic Control and Land Registry
Mr. R.G. (Robine) de Lange – Tegelaar President Rotterdam District Court since 2013. She became a judge in 1993 and has since worked in criminal, commercial, juvenile and family law departments
Mr. drs. G.C.C. (Gerard) Lewin He was a District Court judge in Rotterdam and Curaçao and has held an extraordinary academic chair in Amsterdam and Curaçao, currently senior judge at the Amsterdam Court of Appeal
Mr. M. (Michiel) van Nispen Member of Parliament for the Netherlands Socialistic Party (SP), spokesperson for the judiciary
Prof. mr. C.E. (Edgar) du Perron Since April 2016, judge in the civil chamber of the Supreme Court and honorary professor of private law at the University of Amsterdam. Previously he was a full-time professor of private law at this university, dean of its law faculty, deputy District Court judge and deputy judge Court of Appeal, and chairman of the Financial Services’ Complaints Committee (Kifid)
Mr. P.N. (Pieter) van Regteren Altena Attorney at law since 1980, dean of the Amsterdam Bar from November 2013 until April 2018 and since then again attorney at law with the law firm Van Doorne in Amsterdam
Prof. dr. A.H.G. (Alexander) Rinnooy Kan University professor University of Amsterdam
Mr. E. C. (Eveline) Ruinaard Former (senior) judge, former director of Administrative Jurisdiction Council of State and currently full-time chairman of the Financial Services’ Complaints Committee and general director of Kifid
Prof. dr. Ir. W. (Wim) van Saarloos President of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Sciences (KNAW)
Mr. dr. A.J.P. (Alexander) Schild Judge District Court Zeeland-West-Brabant, Breda location, civil sector. He was formerly affiliated with the Scientific Bureau of the Supreme Court and previously worked as an attorney at law
Mr. dr. Chr. M. (Christiaan) Stokkermans Former civil-law notary in Amsterdam (Loeff Claeys Verbeke; Allen & Overy) currently independent legal advisor and deputy judge Court of Appeal Amsterdam
Prof. mr. L. (Vino) Timmerman Attorney General in extraordinary service at the Supreme Court of the Netherlands and member of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Sciences (KNAW)

2019 / publication


You can purchase this publication via Boomuitgevers Den Haag
Boomuitgevers Den Haag